The history of Expocentre goes hand in hand with the development of the trade show business in our country.

Expocentre: Traditions of the Exhibition Business

For over 50 years Expocentre has been an unrivalled leader in organizing and staging international trade shows in Russia and abroad, many of which have become landmarks of the history of the global exhibition business. They still retain their prominent position in the calendar of the worlds major trade and consumer shows.

In the era of the Soviet Union all international exhibitions were held solely by Expocentre. It was the only company in the USSR empowered to run international and foreign exhibitions throughout the Soviet Union, as well as the Soviet shows in other countries. Since 1940s the Soviet exhibitions abroad and foreign exhibitions in the USSR were first organized by the Exhibitions Department, then the Agency for Exhibitions with two subdivisions: the Department for Soviet Exhibitions Abroad and the Department of Foreign Exhibitions in the Soviet Union, and then by the Agency for International and Foreign Exhibitions in the USSR under the USSR Chamber of Commerce (later turned into the USSR Chamber of Commerce and Industry) - unique structures in the Soviet Union to which Expocentre is an immediate successor.

The exhibition of US industrial products, or, as it was then called, the American National Exhibition of 1959, national exhibitions of Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Czechoslovakia and other countries, the first ever Soviet trade shows Stroidormash and Khimia followed by no less important and major trade shows such as Sviaz, Lesdrevmash, Elektro, Neftegaz, Inlegmash and others. They became extraordinary events for hundreds of thousands of Soviet people giving them an opportunity to see and, even, touch the realities of the life in other countries. And for specialists they unveiled a whole new world of achievements in research and technology. There is no reckoning how many discoveries and inventions has come to life thanks to Expocentres international exhibitions where Soviet and foreign researchers and specialists could meet and communicate.

Russias prominent role in the global exhibition business should also be credited to Expocentre. In 1975 Expocentre became a member of the Global Association of the Exhibition Industry (UFI) - the only member representing the USSR within this most reputable industry association. And for two decades the company acted as an Ambassador, so to speak, for the Russian exhibition industry in the world. It was Expocentre that for years staged and managed Soviet and Russian displays at World Expositions, starting from the Expo67 in Montreal when the EXPO abbreviation was officially introduced.

Another key field of Expocentres activity has, for decades, been the setting up of Russian national pavilions at foreign exhibitions in other countries. Were they Soviet or, later, Russian exhibitions in Hungary, Egypt, Germany, Greece, South Korea, UAE, Panama, Poland, Syria, Turkey, France, Croatia, the Czech Republic and other countries, or Russian national pavilions at major international specialized exhibitions and trade fairs including the Paris Furniture Salon and international trade shows in Dubai (UAE), Thessalonica (Greece) and Izmir (Turkey), the International Information Technology Fair in Sao Paulo (Brazil), the World Forum for Medicine in Dusseldorf (Germany), or the International Engineering Fair in Brno (the Czech Republic) it was, again, Expocentre that ensured a most impressive presentation of Russia and its economy, thus helping to enhance the image of the country in the world.

To celebrate Expocentres 55th anniversary, the album book was published in 2014. The book is devoted to the history of Expocentre i.e. the history of the international trade shows in our country.

История «Экспоцентра» неразрывно связана со становлением и развитием в нашей стране международной выставочной деятельности

Уже более полувека «Экспоцентр» – бесспорный отечественный лидер в сфере организации и проведения международных выставок в нашей стране и за рубежом. Многие авторитетные смотры «Экспоцентра» стали яркими вехами глобальной «выставочной» летописи. Они и сегодня входят в число знаковых событий мирового «выставочного календаря», стоят в одном ряду с крупнейшими выставочными мероприятиями своей тематики.

Во времена СССР международная выставочная деятельность ассоциировалась исключительно с работой «Экспоцентра». Только он обладал правом проведения международных и иностранных выставок на всей территории Советского Союза и советских выставок – за рубежом. С конца 1940-х годов советские выставки за рубежом и иностранные выставки в СССР устраивали Отдел выставок, Управление выставок, Управление иностранных выставок в СССР и Управление советских выставок за границей, а затем Управление международных и иностранных выставок в СССР Всесоюзной торговой палаты (впоследствии – Торгово-промышленной палаты СССР) – уникальные для советской страны подразделения, прямым преемником которых является «Экспоцентр».

Выставка промышленной продукции США, или, как ее называли, Американская национальная выставка 1959 года, национальные выставки Болгарии, Венгрии, Польши, Румынии, Чехословакии и других стран, первая в СССР международная отраслевая выставка «Стройдормаш», международный отраслевой смотр «Химия», за которыми последовали не менее значимые и масштабные смотры: «Связь», «Лесдревмаш», «Электро», «Нефтегаз», «Инлегмаш» и другие. Эти впечатляющие события стали для сотен тысяч советских людей окном в мир, дали возможность увидеть и «потрогать руками» реалии зарубежной жизни, а для специалистов открыли целый мир достижений зарубежной науки и техники. Не подсчитать, какому количеству открытий и изобретений обязаны мы общению ученых и специалистов на международных выставках «Экспоцентра»!

Становление нашей страны как заметного участника глобальной выставочной индустрии также неразрывно связано с «Экспоцентром». В 1975 году он стал единственным представителем СССР в самой авторитетной выставочной организации мира – Всемирной ассоциации выставочной индустрии (UFI) и два десятилетия являлся, образно говоря, Чрезвычайным и Полномочным Послом России Выставочной во всем мире. Экспозиции нашей страны на Всемирных выставках многие годы также организовывал и проводил именно «Экспоцентр» – начиная с выставки в Монреале в 1967 году, когда впервые была официально введена аббревиатура «ЭКСПО».

Одним из приоритетных направлений деятельности «Экспоцентра» на протяжении десятилетий было и остается создание российских коллективных экспозиций на зарубежных выставках и ярмарках. Советские, а затем российские выставки в Венгрии, Египте, Германии, Греции, Республике Корея, ОАЭ, Панаме, Польше, Сирии, Турции, Франции, Хорватии, Чехии и многих других странах… Участие отечественных компаний в крупнейших зарубежных специализированных выставках и ярмарках, среди которых – Парижский мебельный салон, международные выставки и ярмарки в Дубае (ОАЭ), Салониках (Греция), Измире (Турция), Международная ярмарка высоких технологий в Сан-Паулу (Бразилия), Международная специализированная медицинская выставка в Дюссельдорфе (Германия), Международная машиностроительная выставка в Брно (Чехия)… Именно «Экспоцентр» много лет подряд обеспечивает яркое присутствие нашей страны на выставочной карте планеты, способствуя становлению имиджа России в мире, развитию взаимовыгодных торгово-экономических связей, продвижению отечественного бизнеса на мировые рынки.

В 2014 году к 55-летию «Экспоцентра» была выпущена книга-альбом об истории «Экспоцентра» – истории становления международной выставочной деятельности в нашей стране.